How Poor People Can Be

[EDIT] I’ve added the “do you know that…” column on my sidebar. It will feature trivias and flat facts once in every three days. Weeee. Folks, you just don’t know how happy I am. Buwahahaha! [/EDIT]

I found this story in an old issue of Health&Home Magazine. Ponder on.

– 0 –

One day the father of a very wealthy family took his son on a trip to remote farms; he wanted to show his son how poor some people can be. They spent a couple of days and nights on the farm of what would be considered a very poor family. As they were returning home, the father asked the boy. “How was the trip?”

“It was great, Dad.”

“Did you see how poor people can be?”

“Oh Yeah.”

“So what did you learn from the trip?”

The boy said, “I saw that we have one dog and they have four. We have a pool that reaches the middle of our yard, and they have a creek that has no end. At night we have imported lanterns, and they have the stars.”

“Our patio reaches to the front yard, and they have the whole horizon. We have a small piece of land to live on, and they have fields that go beyond our sight. We have servants who serves us, but they serve others.”

WE buy our food, but they grow theirs. We have walls around our property to protect us. They have friends to protect them.”

Then the boy added, “Thanks Dad, for showing me how poor we are!”

– 0 –

Too many times we forget what we have and concentrate on what we don’t have. One person’s worthless object is anothers prized possession. It’s all based on one’s perspective.

Makes you wonder what would happen if we all gave thanks to God for all the bounty He has provided instead of worrying about wanting more.

Today, I am so happy to say that for the third time, I have her back. I love you Tin.

About this entry